Does AlmaLinux work with kickstart?

HI All,

I am new to AlmaLinux. I was trying to migrate our installation machinery from CentOS 7 to Alma Linux 8.6, but failed. The kickstart fails with "dracut-initqueue no suitable images ".

I was trying both local copy of unpacked AlmaLinux DVD, or Index of /almalinux/8/AppStream/x86_64/kickstart/ as the url in kickstart.

How is it supposed to work? Why there are two repos, one ./os and one ./kickstart, how are they different ? Is there any documentation on how to setup kickstart with AlmaLinux? Any advice greatly appreciated, thanks!

I have used kickstart for both Alma 8 and 9. (Not complete automation yet; I leave some details to be set interactively.) Booted with PXE, actually.

Up to CentOS 7 (point) release set of packages was in “base” repo and interim updates did drop into “updates” repo. You could repeat installation at any time (before next point release) and get exact same package versions (from base). On the other hand, if you did want to get updates ASAP, you had to add the updates repo into the installation (interactive or kickstart).

When Alma 8 and 9 do a (point) release, two identical trees are created: “os” and “kickstart”.
The “kickstart” is not modified after creation. The interim updates are dropped into the “os”.

Therefore, if you do use the “kickstart” branches, then you do get the initial 8.6 content.
If you do use the “os”, then you get latest available versions of packages.

I usually run at least one interactive install. It does write a kickstart file into /root/.
Then I can run (kickstart) install with that file (although I tend to tune it further).

Thanks for the reply!

We develop kickstart manually, the kickstarts we have grown sort of involved over time, and we never do any interactive installs. Everything we do should be pxebootable and reinstallable remotely.

So, am I understanding correctly, that this should simply work?

install
###cmdline
#text