Firewalld basics

I am not a professional firewall engineer, I just use it on Linux.

With this in mind, I have learned over the last 1+ year to list all of the zones, see how the zones are configured and so on.

The problem is I really need to understand the BASIC concepts of a firewalld firewall so that I can understand why I am doing what I am doing, not just the meaning of a --switch-option and what it does.

For examples:

• What happens if a zone is active, but there is no interface assigned? What is the worse that could happen?

• If the sources for a zone are defined and there are also services or ports assigned to that active zone, does that mean only those sources can access those explicitly defined services and ports? That makes sense to me, but I am experiencing something else if that is truly the case.

• How do I know when I should use which zone for whatever purpose?

I don’t really just want the answers to these questions but maybe a pointer to a great, no fantastic, reference explaining the basics of firewalld components and concepts. I want to be strong in this technology, not just aware.

Thank you.

firewalld has some really stupid defaults (like allowing dhcp, ping and cockpit on all zones) so i’d say to either ditch it and use raw nftables - which gives you a lot more control, or delete the defaults and start from scratch.

there’s also some weirdness like firewall-offline-cmd can’t do certain things from a kickstart that firewall-cmd can in a running system, and you end up having to edit /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and the like.

and don’t get me started on the backwards icmp blocking.

the definitions of public, trusted etc. zones is not ideal either, again nuke them from orbit and make your own.

3 Likes

Hi @warron.french ,