How do some volumes mount?

Hi all. I hope that this, my first post in this forum, is posted in the correct place.

I am a newbie and no problem with saying as much. One of my VMs which are running in KVM/QEMU has three mounted volumes, vdb, vdc and vdd.

I don’t know what I did for vdc1 but it is not mounted through FSTAB, but the other two are.

My question is, just how the heck is vdc1 mounting to /mnt/path-to-volume/ and not via /etc/fstab?

Thanks much.

First, findmnt might reveal a bit more than mount.

There are at least four systems that could define (auto)mounts:

• /etc/fstab
  • autofs
  • GUI desktop
  • kernel command line

Thanks jlehtone, I did not find any autofs mount but I did find it referenced in findmnt as well as in /etc/mtab/ .

I just don’t know how I set this one up differently than vdb1 and vdd1 where I mapped them in fstab.

Its fine that the file systems all mount properly, but it bugs me that I don’t know what I did nor how to configure all file systems to mount in the same manner for consistency.

Oh, now that I think of it, there might be one more place: the initramfs.
Some filesystems (e.g. the root) have to be mounted before we have access to content, like /etc/fstab …
While kernel command-line definitely handles the root, the rest have to be configured somewhere.

Do you see fstab in sudo lsinitrd?

You did not show where you mount to the mystery fs, so it is hard to guess whether it is “special”.

PS. I’ve seen a cloud image (i.e. a VM) where the /etc/fstab says that root has XFS, but the filesystem is actually ext4, so the /etc/fstab can be happily ignored in some cases.

LOL, the mystry fs. No secrets worth protecting in this case. From mtab:
/dev/vdc1 /mnt/The\040Simpsons xfs rw,seclabel,relatime,attr2,inode64,logbufs=8,logbsize=32k,noquota 0 0

From $sudo lsinitrd | grep fstab

-rw-r--r--   1 root     root            0 Apr  6 07:46 etc/fstab.empty