Openmpi not added to the PATH during installation

Is this the place to report issues/bugs with AlmaLinux 9?

When installing openmpi, it was not added to the PATH

Adding: export PATH=/usr/lib64/openmpi/bin:$PATH to the .bashrc solves the problem but the PATH variable should be set automatically during installation. This is probably a bug.

that’s not a bug, you’d be pretty ill advised to add every bit of software to your $PATH, especially globally.

you’ll just have to call it using /usr/lib64/openmpi/bin/opal_wrapper, or manually add it to your user’s $PATH via ~/.bashrc as you say.

I didnt talk about "every bit of software" but openmpi and I dont remember another distribution not taking care of this openmpi setting so the compiler finds openmpi to compile software with an openmpi dependency.

If that`s the RHEL way, fine with me, I figured it out but absolute beginners will have problems I think.

its a packaging nuance, potentially other distro’s are symlinking or installing into /bin which would already be in your $PATH, /usr/lib64 does seem odd.

p.s. i meant that rpm/dnf cannot update your user’s $PATH as it doesn’t know about users other than root, and you wouldn’t want every package you install outside of /bin to be inserted into everyone’s $PATH.

Indeed. There could be multiple implementations and then one can’t have them all “first on path”.

For example, EL7 had 32bit openmpi, 64bit openmpi, 32bit mpich, and 64bit mpich.

A package environment-modules is installed as dependency of openmpi.

You can run module av to see list of available “modules”. There is probably mpi/openmpi-x86_64

You can run module show mpi/openmpi-x86_64 to see what the module would set.

You can run module add mpi/openmpi-x86_64 to load those settings to your bash environment. (Or module add mpi, if mpi/openmpi-x86_64 is lexicographically greatest mpi/*)

You can run module list to see what you have added, and module purge to unload them all.