Software Dependencies during OS install

I am new to AlmaLinux, but not RHEL-variants in general. I have worked with CentOS 8, but I am trying out AlmaLinux to see if it will be good for my organization to use.

Unfortunately, I have found an issue during the installation process of Software Selections. Once I have made Software Selections such as RPM Development Tools, after trying the Base Environments of:

• Server with GUI, or
  • Workstation, or
  • Virtualization Host

I return back to the primary screen - Installation Summary, and find the problem of “Error checking software selection.”

I do not remember ever seeing this problem with CentOS 8 installations, not to say it did not exist I just do not remember it.

Has anyone else seen this? Is this merely an aesthetic (misleading) error or is it real?

Hello, we’ll look into it and fix it in 8.4 release if bug will be confirmed.
Thanks for pointing this out.

Thank you sir. Please let me know if this is a functional error or simply an aesthetics issue.

Again, thank you.

Warron, I know you’ve been around CentOS for ages, so I’ll just mention that I had a few issues getting the repository recognised at first. I was doing a network installation and so it couldn’t continue at all until I’d sorted it out. If you’re installing from the standard image such problems might arise when it checked the selections. Just a thought.

@MartinR, that’s precisely what I was experiencing was a problem during the checked selections.

Do you have any suggestions? This is off of the ISO file that I am installing, not even with a kickstart or LiveDVD installation or whatever.

I’ve just had a look at the entry in yum.repos.d and it is:
baseurl=https://repo.almalinux.org/almalinux/$releasever/BaseOS/$basearch/os/
so I’d interpret that as:
https://repo.almalinux.org/almalinux/8/BaseOS/x86_64/os
Watch the capitisation!

1 Like

Thanks @MartinR. Sorry for the capitalization.