Updates to Alma Linux only after payment?

Hi, I installed Alma 8.4 in a VM. When I try to update I can see that there are updates but I can’t get them as long as I don’t register at Getpagespeed in Russia. On that side it looks as if I also have to create an account at Paypal. What is going on? I thought it was foss-ware and free?

Working from the UK there are no such barriers. I just run dnf update and it does it. I’ve no experience of using Getpagespeed which seems from the front page to be some sort of website server. Why you should need to register is not clear unless there are peculiarly Russian restrictions/requirements. How are you hosting your VM? If it’s on your own metal then there should be no issues.

Thanks for the response. Under Debian 10.9 I use several Linux distro’s within VMware Workstation 15.5.6. I never had this problem with updating in other VM’s. This is the respons I get:

[root@localhost epsi]# dnf update
Updating Subscription Management repositories.
Unable to read consumer identity

This system is not registered to Subscription Management. You can use subscription-manager to register.

Last metadata expiration check: 0:40:20 ago on 2021-06-02T15:17:55 CEST.

Some packages in your transaction are brought to you by GetPageSpeed:

• python3-dbus-1.2.8-8.el8.x86_64
  • python2-cairo-1.18.1-4.el8.x86_64
  • python3-gobject-3.34.0-3.el8.x86_64
  • python3-gobject-base-3.34.0-3.el8.x86_64
  • libv4l-1.18.0-2.el8.x86_64
  • smartmontools-1:7.1-7.el8.x86_64
  • brotli-1.0.9-1.el8.x86_64
  • python3-cairo-1.18.1-4.el8.x86_64
    To enable package installs, subscribe using the following link:

RPM repository subscription - GetPageSpeed

[root@localhost epsi]#

I use Linux just for fun. Pure hobby, not for work or enterprise.

Greets, Robert.

Is your VM hosted in Russia? There are two Russian mirror servers (mirror.yandex.ru and mirror.reconn.ru) but I can access them both just fine without any restrictions.