Kickstart failure

VMware Workstation 17.0.2, AlmaLinux 9.2 kickstart install.

Experimenting with NVMe drive configuration. When I do a manual install with a 30GB drive, anaconda-ks.cfg shows the following:
ignoredisk --only-use=nvme0n1

Partition clearing information

clearpart --none --initlabel

Disk partitioning information

part /boot --fstype=“xfs” --ondisk=nvme0n1 --size=1024
part swap --fstype=“swap” --ondisk=nvme0n1 --size=2048
part / --fstype=“xfs” --ondisk=nvme0n1 --size=27647

However when I put those exact lines in my kickstart file the GUI chokes with: “Installation Destination: Kickstart insufficient”

But no way to find out why it is whining. Don’t have this problem using the old --ondisk=sda method

Must be missing something very basic.

Suggesstion?

Are you sure about this?
I’m not an expert, but I have clearpart --all --initlabel in all my kickstart files.

Yes. I’m sure. Been using this for over 15 years. There are 3 issues:

1. Why would anaconda have values that aren’t accurate?
  2. Why would changing from sda to nvme drive type fail when all other values are identical?
  3. Why isn’t there any documentation for calculating values?

Yes, I realize LVM would prevent all this, but for this exercise it’s not an option.

And ksvalidator doesn’t give any hints? I know that it’s not considered as being very serious - but it’s good for catching silly typos.

If I’m understanding correctly, since you reinstalled after an initial installation – are you re-using the same nvme0n1, or a cleared one? A typical problem I have is pre-existing partitions that don’t get erased even when I ask Anaconda to do so, and it looks like you’re explicitly asking it not to.