How is the RHEL change GPL compatible?

How are they able to add terms to the use of the customer portal that don’t allow the download of SRPMs and redistribution to others?

From GPLv2:

1. Each time you redistribute the Program (or any work based on the Program), the recipient automatically receives a license from the original licensor to copy, distribute or modify the Program subject to these terms and conditions. You may not impose any further restrictions on the recipients’ exercise of the rights granted herein.

It seems like any terms on the use of their customer portal that attempt to impose further restrictions on the customer’s right to redistribute the source further violates the GPL.

1 Like

tl;dr – refusal to distribute future releases to someone that might exercise their rights under the GPL isn’t actually a violation of the GPL as I understand it.

Longer: I’m not a lawyer, nor a current employee of Red Hat. (Former, however.)

Red Hat gets to choose who it does business with. This isn’t controversial, I hope. Even the staunchest free software folks should acknowledge that the GPL doesn’t require me to sell a CD/DVD with my software on it to anyone and everyone.

I can refuse to do business with a person or company just because I don’t like them, or any other reason. So refusing to sell GPL’ed software in the first place doesn’t violate the GPL. Once I do sell or give it to you, I have to comply with its terms to provide you source code because now I’ve distributed it to you.

Therefore, it’s not a GPL violation AIUI to say “nah, I’m not giving you this binary that will obligate me to also give you source code. Go away.” A company can refuse to distribute binaries to certain geographies/countries, for example, to comply with U.S. export controls.

Red Hat’s terms don’t say you can’t distribute source under the GPL, but (AIUI) they can terminate their business relationship with you if you do that, and then you cannot get new releases under the terms.